top of page
Welcome
Recent Posts

The Process of Figuring Out Where You Know That Guy From


Okay, so I’m just sitting in Market, barely enjoying a subpar omelet when I see this guy look at me from the other table. Why the f*ck is he staring? Can I help you sir? And then that’s when I realize— I know this dude from somewhere.

I know this guy. No yeah, I definitely know this guy. He’s uh…in my Spanish class I think? No that’s not it. Maybe a different class. A lecture? No, there’s no way I could recognize anyone in a 1,000 person lecture this distinctly. But who the f*ck is he? Was he the person from my group project? No, I remember that project. It was me and that girl Brenna who never did anything. It’s Introduction to Sociology, Brenna, you can keep up.

Okay, so it’s not from a class. Where then? O-Week. It’s got to be freshman year O-Week. I had like, triple the amount of friends then. But I still have all those people on snapchat and I don’t recognize him from any stories. So it’s not O-Week and not a friend of anyone from O-Week. Uh. Geez.

Oh no. Is it…that guy? Guy I said I’d text but then never did? Oh damn, I was very drunk and I couldn’t name him if I tried. Oh my god I hope it’s not him. What if he remembers me? Oh god what if he asks why I never texted him? There is quite literally nothing worse than if this guy approaches me to ask why I woke up the next morning full of regrets. Although he looks a little shorter than me, and if I know drunk me like I think I do, she’ll get with anyone taller than her, so I don’t think that’s it.

So, I’m contemplating all the possibilities of where his face came from, when all of a sudden he says “Hello!” and waves. Okay, so me and guy are at like a waving level but not at a talking level, interesting. TA? Friends ex-boyfriend? Friends ex-friend? President of a club I joined but never showed up to? Clueless.

I start texting people. Brown hair. Kinda short. Looks like he’d do well on a show like Stranger Things but not 10 Things I Hate About You, if you know what I mean (because I don’t). Someone has got to know this boy.

CSI is called. FBI too. I’m on every social media. Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest; it doesn’t matter. Every photo on the internet is in my hand as I frantically scroll. I call detectives. My parents. I’m taking snipe snapchats and sending them to everyone I’ve ever met. The caption? WHO IS THIS.

He gets up from his table. For a second you think, oh no, a conversation is about to happen. Instead he gives me a casual, “Have a good day” and heads towards the rotating stack of garbage. I am safe another day. But for how long?

How much have I dedicated to this boy now? Are we friends? How long can you convince someone that you remember them before it catches up to you? This is a lot of commitment. Are we dating? Do I have to marry this guy now? Am I on drugs? Oh shit, I am on drugs, I totally forgot. A lot of drugs. That was the janitor wasn’t it? Oh.

Welcome to the official Pitt Tonight blog. While your waiting for our next show, keep up with our staff members in their weekly highlights, and see life in South O through the eyes of Pitt Tonight.

Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page